The Award

The PIR Biomedical Science Ambassador Award recognizes a Canadian researcher, his or her outstanding body of work over a period of time which has contributed to the fields of biomedical science and/or clinical medicine, and their promotion of this research to the Canadian public.

Nomination Information

Nominations can be submitted by a Dean, Vice-President (Research) or their equivalent, from any Canadian research institute, hospital or post secondary institution.  Only one nomination from any given institution and/or affiliated hospital will be accepted per award category. Call for nominations are sent in the fall with an application deadline in mid January.

Nomination Requirements

A nomination must consist of:

  • A maximum one page letter that describes the research contributions of the nominee and the potential impact of the contributions to the quality of life of Canadians
  • A maximum one page document describing the outreach activities of the nominee, including participation in public educational programs
  • Curriculum Vitae of the nominee
  • Additional letters of support, with a maximum of three letters


A carefully chosen panel selected from the academic community within the research area will adjudicate each nomination.


Past Recipients

Dr. Cheryl Rockman-Greenberg, 2015
Dr. Frank Plummer, 2014
Dr. Chris Brandl, 2013
Kelvin K. Ogilvie 2012
Dr. Brenda Gallie 2011
Dr. Duncan Stewart 2011
Dr. Patrick Whippey 2011
Bob McDonald 2010
Dr. Eliot Phillipson 2010
Dr. Antoine Hakim 2010
Dr. Vladimir Hachinski 2010
Dr. John H. Dirks 2009
Dr. Paul Davenport 2009
Dr. Marc Garneau 2009
Dr. Arthur J. Carty 2008
Dr. Norman Barwin 2008
Dr. Robert A. Phillips 2008
Dr. Patrick McGreer 2007
Dr. Barbara Vanderhyden 2007
James A. Morrisey 2007
Dr. Michelle Bailey 2007
Dr. Jane Rossant 2006
Dr. Peter Walker 2006
Mitchell A. Baran 2006
Dr. James E. Till & Dr. Ernest A. McCulloch 2005
Dr. Leo Renaud 2005
Dr. Robert Korneluk 2004
Dr. David Naylor 2004
Dr. David Hill 2004
Dr. George Connell 2003
Dr. Douglas Jones 2002
Dr. Ronald Worton 2001
Dr. Paul Morley 2001
Dr. John Evans 2000
Dr. Michel Chretien 2000
Dr. Keith Hayes 2000
Dr. Barry McLennan 1999
Dr. Lou Simonovitch 1998
Bessie Borwein 1998
Henry G. Friesen MD 1997
J. Allyn Taylor 1996